Lincoln Elementary Schools #27 Regular Meeting - Board of Education

November 15, 2023

The November meeting of the Board of Education of District #27 was called to order by President Rohrer at 6:00 p.m. in the Board Room at the Administration Office.

Members present at roll call were: Kutz, Bates, Hullinger, Stoltzenburg, Montgomery, and Rohrer. Supt. Froebe and the following were also in attendance: Christa Healy, Ginger Chaudoin, Chris Allen, Mike Workman, Kelly Bogdanic, Barb Coffey, Colleen Jodlowski, Ashley Phillips, Rose Sering, and her family.

Consent Agenda

Member Stoltzenburg made a motion, seconded by Member Hullinger, to approve the Consent Agenda as follows: minutes from the October 18, 2023 regular and closed session meetings; bills for November 2023; Treasurer's Report for the month ending October 31, 2023; destruction of 19 month old closed session minutes; resignation of Laura Moore as Aide at LJHS at the close of the 2023-24 school year, Becca Brant as Aide at Northwest, effective November 14, 2023, and Janet Landers as Aide at Washington-Monroe, effective November 21, 2023; hiring of Payton Lanning as 8th Grade History Teacher at LJHS for the 2024-25 school year, Lynzie Luster as 3rd Grade Teacher at Washington-Monroe for the 2024-25 school year, and Erin Abbott from 3rd Grade Teacher at Northwest to Instructional Coach for the 2024-25 school year. Members Kutz, Bates, Stoltzenburg, Hullinger, Montgomery, and Rohrer voted aye to a roll call vote. Motion carried.

Board Scholars

Member Stoltzenburg made a motion, seconded by Member Bates, to name the following as Board Scholars for the first nine weeks of the 2023-24 school year: Jackson Ahart, Emma Babbitt, William Bates, William Dyer, Zane Edgecombe, Stella Ely, Bentley Houghtalin, Mark Johnson Jr, Owen King, Burke Kitterman, Gabriella Koke, Reed Kutz, Trenton Strait, Seth Stuckey, Makaya Taylor, Kingsley Tinker Mariano Tucker, Bradyn Allen, Zachary Carlile, Layla DiBerardino, Brooklyn Edwards Drew Geary, Gabriel Jones, Brookelynn Leevey, Mya Looper, Malachi Morris, Boston Tomlinson, Cameron Wilmert, Tianyu Zheng, Logan Burger, Cole Chaney, John David Dietrich, Hunter Henrichsmeyer, Daisee Jackson, Samantha Lewis, Madison McEvers Logan McFadden, Kaylee McKinney, Brooke Meister, Adriana Menzel, Max Miller, and Hailee Rempe. Members Kutz, Bates, Stoltzenburg, Hullinger, Montgomery, and Rohrer voted aye to a roll call vote. Motion carried.

Student Suspensions Member Bates made a motion, seconded by Member Stoltzenburg, to approve student suspensions as presented and recommended by Supt. Froebe. Members Kutz, Bates, Stoltzenburg, Hullinger, Montgomery, and Rohrer voted aye to a roll call vote. Motion carried.

Supt. Report

Supt. Froebe reported on the following: I met with the owner of Midwest Construction Professionals regarding new windows for Adams. If the Board approves going out to bid, they will help with the process. I met with a representative from Nevco to see about purchasing exterior digital signs for our schools. We once again had a great turnout for our fall Parent/Teacher Conferences which were held on October 26th and

27th. We had 89% of our K-5th grade parents attend the conferences. I am very pleased with our overall IAR results. We increased from 45% of our 3rd-8th graders Meeting/Exceeding on ELA in 2022 to 51% this past spring, and from 28% in math to 31%. We once again have the highest scores in Logan County, and the lowest financial adequacy of 69%. We scored well above the State average of 35% in ELA and 27% in math, and all of our schools received a Commendable designation. I greatly appreciate the efforts of our administrators and teachers, along with the willingness of our students to always try their best on the State assessment. Mrs. Coffey has been doing a nice job of staying on top of the Artificial Intelligence (AI) shift in education. We recently had a guest speaker at our last early release to discuss the topic, "Introducing AI to Educators". I am proud of our faculty and staff for raising \$610 for the Logan County Relay for Life on our district Pink Day. We were notified at the end of October that we would be receiving \$86,657 from the competitive grant, Enhancing Post-Covid Recovery Effort. On behalf of the Board and administrative team, we had Brew 66 Coffee Truck deliver drinks around to all of our faculty and staff this past Friday. Our RIF and PERA committees met last week to approve the process of the sequence of dismissal of employees and our evaluation tool. Our December Board meeting will be moved up a week and will be Wednesday the 13th. I hope everyone who is attending the School Board Conference has a safe trip to Chicago. Member Kutz made a motion, seconded by Member Stoltzenburg, to approve the report as presented. Members Kutz, Bates, Stoltzenburg, Hullinger, Montgomery, and Rohrer voted aye to a roll call vote. Motion carried.

FMLA & Leave of Absence

Member Bates made a motion, seconded by Member Montgomery, to approve the Family Medical Leave Act request as presented. Members Kutz, Bates, Stoltzenburg, Hullinger, Montgomery, and Rohrer voted aye to a roll call vote. Motion carried.

Tax Abatement

Member Bates made a motion, seconded by Member Hullinger, to approve a resolution abating the tax heretofore levied for the Alternate Revenue Bonds Series 2020 totaling \$8,440,000 pledged against the 1% Sales Tax for 2024. Members Kutz, Bates, Stoltzenburg, Hullinger, Montgomery, and Rohrer voted aye to a roll call vote. Motion carried.

Tax Levy

Member Montgomery made a motion, seconded by Member Bates, to approve the Tentative Tax Levy and direct the superintendent to file notice and present the levy for passage at the December 2023 regular meeting. Members Kutz, Bates, Stoltzenburg, Hullinger, Montgomery, and Rohrer voted aye to a roll call vote. Motion carried.

Bid Approval

Supt. Froebe explained the need for new windows at Adams. Member Bates made a motion, seconded by Member Stoltzenburg, to authorize the superintendent to seek bids for new windows for Adams. Members Kutz, Bates, Stoltzenburg, Hullinger, Montgomery, and Rohrer voted aye to a roll call vote. Motion carried.

Adjourn

Member Stoltzenburg made a motion, seconded by Member Bates, to adjourn. All members present voted aye; meeting adjourned at 6:31 p.m.

Stephen Rohrer, President	Marilyn Montgomery, Secretary